Eating Local in Phoenix


Little Postage Stamp of Native Soil
August 22, 2011, 12:25 am
Filed under: welcome | Tags: , , , , ,
Posted on January 24, 2011 

OrangesI didn’t start my local eating project with the intention of putting down roots. This was a buyers only thing. Sixteen weeks later, however, I find myself searching for the “root end” of a sweet potato so that I can sprout and – if things go according to plan – grow my own.

I’m not entirely sure how I reached this point. Somewhere between the gardening books and cooking fresh produce, I’ve changed from a passive consumer to a planter. Not that anything is in the ground, yet.

This project was, and still is, a grad student’s attempt to create an all local meal from products purchased in and around the Valley of the Sun (and you can read my previous adventures here). Except, it’s no longer just about the local meal. I now make my own marmalade and jellies, preserve lemons and can seasonal produce. This is an adventure in local food, and it’s having a surprising effect on me.

Preserved LemonsI hadn’t planned on becoming so attached to Phoenix. I’m a grad student, which means my time here is likely short-lived. Yet, the more I cook and the more I search for recipes to highlight the local produce, the more I find myself rooted to the soil.

It’s strange to suddenly find myself so attached to my home after living here for ten years, but as William Faulkner said, I “discovered that my own little postage stamp of native soil was worth writing about and that I would never live long enough to exhaust it.”

Join me as I discover my own little culinary stamp within the Valley of the Sun.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

