Eating Local in Phoenix


And in the end

A year-and-a-half ago I started this blog. It was to be an experiment: could a grad student make one meal a week from all local ingredients? The answer, it turns out is yes. (As long as you take the term “meal” lightly.)

Now, I’m 11 days from graduation and I’ll no longer be a poor grad student. I’ll be a poor, recently-graduated student. There’s a difference, I’m sure.

It’s funny to look back at that first post. That moment when I vowed that I wouldn’t be growing anything, instead relying almost entirely on farmers markets around the city.

I’m not sure when it happened, but somewhere along the way I became a jam making, pickle canning, garden obsessing cook. It became less about cobbling together every possible ingredient – no matter the challenge – from a farmers market and more about making stand-out, stand-alone dishes from food I adored.

It became about marmalade and giant sweet potatoes, stuffed pumpkins, simple spaghetti and a chicken that stole my heart.

It was a beautiful and freeing change.

I’ve watched six seasons come and go while in grad school. In a small way, I’ve celebrated them all. I’ve eaten local both here in the Valley of the Sun and abroad.

Looking back, I wouldn’t change a thing.

But this isn’t all about the past. There are big changes on the horizon – even if I don’t quite know what they are, yet. But I do know one thing, the end of my masters career doesn’t mean the end of this blog.

I like local food too much to let this go.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy to hear that Anna, I enjoy reading this! All the best to you on your adventures, wherever they may lead you. I know it will be wonderful.

Comment by Carol Brown

Congratulations on your upcoming graduation!

How heartwarming it was to read that you will keep the blog going. Your writings are a real pleasure to read.

Thank you and Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Rae

Comment by Rae Petersen

The pear tart recipe is great. Found out that it’s best not to add sugar if you pre-make the tart and store in the fridge before baking.

Comment by David Musser




Leave a Reply

